Online Finasteride Prescription. 2026 Provider Comparison
Finasteride 1 mg/day is the FDA-approved oral standard of care for male pattern hair loss. established in the pivotal Kaufman 1998 RCT (JAAD), the cheapest evidence-backed long-term hair-loss treatment available, with telehealth pricing as low as $20/mo for generic. Compounded topical multi-actives (finasteride + minoxidil ± azelaic acid ± retinol) have largely replaced standalone topical minoxidil because they reduce systemic side-effect risk while combining mechanisms. Below: oral vs topical, multi-active formulations, post-finasteride syndrome considerations, and which providers offer what.
Reader-supported, we may earn a commission through links on this site. Rankings are editorially independent. Disclosure · Methodology
Finasteride is a Type II 5-alpha reductase inhibitor that lowers serum and scalp DHT, the androgen primarily responsible for androgenetic alopecia. FDA-approved for male pattern hair loss at 1 mg/day oral (Propecia, generic) since 1997. Topical 0.25% formulations have been studied (notably the 2022 Caserini et al. trial) and show comparable efficacy with substantially lower systemic absorption. Compounded multi-actives typically pair 0.1–0.25% finasteride with 5–6% minoxidil in a single solution or foam.
Men with male pattern hair loss (Norwood stages II–V) seeking a maintenance therapy with strong long-term evidence. Strongest fit for patients still in early-to-mid hair loss, finasteride is more effective at preserving existing hair than at regrowing fully miniaturised follicles. Not appropriate for women of reproductive age (teratogenic) and contraindicated in patients planning to conceive (transient effects on semen parameters in some patients). Patients with a history of depression or sexual dysfunction should weigh the risk-benefit carefully given post-finasteride syndrome reports.
Generic oral finasteride 1 mg/day: $20–$30/mo via telehealth. Brand-name Propecia: $80–$100/mo. Compounded topical multi-actives: $40–$80/mo. Visible results take 3–6 months to slow loss and 6–12 months for any regrowth; full effect by 18 months. Stopping finasteride reverses gains within 12 months. Most platforms include unlimited messaging follow-up and reorder automation; some require annual photo check-ins. Side effects per FDA prescribing info: decreased libido (1.8%), erectile dysfunction (1.3%), decreased ejaculate volume (1.2%), most resolve on discontinuation, though post-finasteride syndrome describes persistent symptoms in a small minority.
Verified Offers for online
Hone Health
Hormone optimisation platform with real biomarker testing and physician-guided protocols, for men and women.
Strut Health
Broad-catalog telehealth covering hair, skin, weight loss, and sexual health, with free shipping and follow-ups bundled in.
HealthRx
LegitScript-certified compounded GLP-1 clinic with flat dose pricing — semaglutide from $99/mo and tirzepatide from $149/mo on annual plans, plus ED, hair, and longevity add-ons.
2026 Price Comparison. Verified Medication Offers
Prices verified June 2026· How we verify →Published provider price terms for offers with a supplied affiliate destination specifically mapped to this medication. Medication, clinician, shipping, and plan-length terms vary; confirm the final checkout total before enrolling.
Prices are verified from public provider websites and may change. Compounded medications are from 503A pharmacies operating under personalisation exceptions. Always confirm pricing and legal status directly with the provider before purchase.
| Provider | Starting dose | Maintenance dose | Pharmacy | Trustpilot | Verified | Actions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| From $25/mo | Up to $399/mo | Not disclosed | 4.8 | Jun 15 | ||
| From $99/mo | Up to $209/mo | 503A | 3.4 | Jul 18 | ||
| From $149/mo | Up to $399/mo | Not disclosed | 3.5 | Jun 15 |
- Starting dose
- From $25/mo
- Maintenance dose
- Up to $399/mo
- Pharmacy
- Not disclosed
- Price checked
- Jun 15
- Starting dose
- From $99/mo
- Maintenance dose
- Up to $209/mo
- Pharmacy
- 503A
- Price checked
- Jul 18
- Starting dose
- From $149/mo
- Maintenance dose
- Up to $399/mo
- Pharmacy
- Not disclosed
- Price checked
- Jun 15
All prices are all-in (consult + medication + shipping) unless noted. Prices verified June 2026. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved finished products. They are compounded under 503A personalisation exceptions. Click any provider name to read the full independent review. CTA buttons link to provider websites and may earn us a commission. How we verify prices →
Oral vs. Topical Finasteride: How to Choose in 2026
The oral vs. topical finasteride decision has become one of the most clinically nuanced choices in men's health telehealth. Oral finasteride 1 mg/day is the FDA-approved standard with 25+ years of efficacy data, the Kaufman 1998 RCT showed 48% increase in hair count at 2 years versus placebo, and the 5-year extension data showed sustained benefit with continued use. It's also the cheapest option at $15–30/month for generic.
Topical finasteride (typically 0.1–0.25% in a solution or foam) has a more limited but growing evidence base. The Caserini 2022 trial is the most cited: topical 0.25% finasteride produced comparable hair-count improvement to oral 1 mg/day while reducing serum DHT suppression from 55% (oral) to 34% (topical). The lower systemic absorption is the key argument for topical, it reduces the theoretical risk of systemic side effects including sexual dysfunction and post-finasteride syndrome. However, no head-to-head trial has confirmed lower side-effect rates, only lower systemic exposure.
The practical decision rule in 2026: if you have no history of sexual dysfunction or depression and want the strongest evidence base at the lowest cost, oral generic finasteride 1 mg/day is the default. If you have pre-existing sexual dysfunction, anxiety, or depression, or if you're concerned about systemic effects, topical finasteride (ideally in a multi-active with minoxidil) is the better starting point. Most major telehealth platforms now offer both routes and can help you switch if you experience side effects.
Compounded Multi-Active Topicals: What They Are and Why They've Become the Default
Compounded multi-active topicals combine finasteride with one or more additional actives, typically minoxidil (5–6%), and sometimes tretinoin, azelaic acid, or biotin. in a single solution or foam applied once or twice daily. They've become the default formulation at most hair-focused telehealth platforms (Hims, Keeps, Strut Health, BraverX, Henry Meds) because they address multiple mechanisms of androgenetic alopecia simultaneously: DHT suppression (finasteride), vasodilation and follicle stimulation (minoxidil), and potentially follicle cycling (tretinoin).
The evidence base for multi-actives is observational and comparative rather than from registration-quality trials. The most frequently cited data comes from Strut Health's own published retrospective (2021) showing superior hair-count outcomes for their finasteride + minoxidil + tretinoin formulation versus historical monotherapy controls. This is not an RCT, but the mechanistic rationale is sound and the formulations are widely used without serious safety signals.
Pricing for compounded multi-actives runs $40–80/month. more than oral generic finasteride alone but often less than buying finasteride and minoxidil separately from a retail pharmacy. The convenience of a single daily application versus two separate products is a meaningful adherence advantage. For patients starting hair-loss treatment in 2026, a compounded multi-active topical is a reasonable first-line choice if the platform offers clinician follow-up and dose adjustment.
What the Studies Actually Show
Finasteride 1 mg/day is the FDA-approved oral therapy for male pattern hair loss. Compounded multi-active topicals (often combining finasteride with minoxidil and other actives) build on this evidence but have not themselves been studied in head-to-head trials. Figures below come from the pivotal RCTs and the FDA prescribing information.
| Endpoint | Finding |
|---|---|
| Hair regrowth (Kaufman et al., 2-year RCT)1 | Finasteride 1 mg/day produced visible hair regrowth in 48% of men at 1 year and 66% at 2 years vs 7% with placebo |
| Long-term efficacy (5-year follow-up)2 | 90% of men treated with finasteride 1 mg/day either maintained or increased hair count at 5 years |
| Mechanism3 | Selective 5-alpha-reductase type II inhibitor; reduces serum dihydrotestosterone (DHT) by ~70% at 1 mg/day |
| Sexual side effects (FDA prescribing information)3 | Decreased libido 1.8%, erectile dysfunction 1.3%, decreased ejaculate volume 0.8% — vs placebo rates of 1.3%, 0.7%, and 0.4% Persistent post-finasteride syndrome (PFS) has been reported in a minority of users. The FDA updated the Propecia label in 2012 to acknowledge persistent sexual adverse events; population frequency remains uncertain. |
Frequently Asked Questions
- Kaufman KD et al. — J Am Acad Dermatol 1998 · Kaufman KD, Olsen EA, Whiting D, et al. Finasteride in the treatment of men with androgenetic alopecia. J Am Acad Dermatol 1998;39(4 Pt 1):578–589.
- 5-year follow-up — Eur J Dermatol 2002 · Kaufman KD, Rotonda J, Shah AK, Meehan AG. Long-term treatment with finasteride 1 mg decreases the likelihood of developing further visible hair loss. Eur J Dermatol 2008;18(4):400–406.
- FDA Prescribing Information — Propecia (finasteride) · PROPECIA (finasteride) tablets, 1 mg. U.S. Food and Drug Administration prescribing information.
RxNotebook is an editorial publication. Citations point to peer-reviewed journals, FDA labeling, and clinical society guidelines. We are not affiliated with the studies cited above. This page is for general information and is not medical advice.